Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Michael Hoppe, Martin Tillman, Tim Wheater - Afterglow (1999)

Michael Hoppe, Martin Tillman, Tim Wheater - Afterglow (1999)

Artist:Michael Hoppe, Martin Tillman, Tim Wheater
Title Of Album:Afterglow
Year Of Release:1999
Label:Hearts of Space
Genre:New Age / Neoclassical
Quality:APE (image+cue)
Total Time:46:37
Total Size:220 MB


01. The Waiting (4:16)
02. Shadow's Fall (5:09)
03. Long Ago (4:10)
04. Land of Serenity (4:24)
05. The Longing (3:44)
06. Lady of Silence (2:31)
07. A Thousand Whispers (3:44)
08. The Reckoning (3:32)
09. Distant Call (3:17)
10. The Listening Wind (3:47)
11. Thoughts of You (2:59)
12. Salvation (2:49)
13. The Waiting (reprise) (2:16)

"Afterglow" is another superlative release from Michael Hoppe and his frequent collaborators, cellist Martin Tillman and flautist Tim Wheater. After successful recent individual releases from Hoppe and Wheater on the Real Music label, it was a surprise to find this album on HOS. "Afterglow" is very reminiscent of the trilogy of "The Poet", "The Dreamer", and "The Yearning", which were released several years ago on Telarc - the first with Hoppe and Tillman, and the latter two with Wheater and Hoppe. The premise of "Afterglow" was to make a completely improvised album with no boundaries or rules except deep emotion. Hoppe guides and suggests harmonies and chord changes from the keyboards, and Tillman and Wheater take flight individually on some tracks and in perfect synch on others. The freedom and fluidity are amazing, but it seems mind-boggling that such rapture could happen without some pre-composing - these are true artists at work!
As I've said before, the cello is my second favorite instrument (after piano), and Tillman's often haunting style can transport and envelop the listener in sheer beauty. On "The Waiting", "Long Ago", and "Distant Call" the yearning he evokes sends goose-bumps up and down the arms and back of the neck. On "The Reckoning" and "The Listening Wind", he provides the rhythm, playing the cello as both bowed and plucked bass - great stuff! These two more up-tempo pieces are a great addition to the slow flow of the other eleven tracks. Tim Wheater also really shines on this CD, displaying his virtuosity and versatility on a variety of flutes. His duets with Tillman on "The Listening Wind" and "Thoughts of You" are exceptional. Again, these are true artists at work, and the results are breath-taking.

Download Michael Hoppe, Martin Tillman, Tim Wheater - Afterglow (1999)
Michael Hoppe, Martin Tillman, Tim Wheater - Afterglow (1999) - High Speed Download

  • 100
1 voted
Torrents search, please wait


Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.

» » » Michael Hoppe, Martin Tillman, Tim Wheater - Afterglow (1999)